top of page

Which states allow me to use the federal bankruptcy exemptions?

When filing for bankruptcy, it is important to know which states allow you to use the federal bankruptcy exemptions. Depending on where you file your case, you may be able to use either the state-specific or federal bankruptcy exemptions.

Generally speaking, most states allow debtors to choose either their state’s set of exemption laws or the federal bankruptcy exemption laws. There are a few exceptions that require debtors to use either the state-specific or the federal law exclusively. These states include Connecticut, Hawaii, Massachusetts and New Jersey. In addition, some states provide very limited options when it comes to choosing between their exemption laws and those of the federal government. For instance, in Arkansas and Maine residents have access only to certain sections of their own state’s exemption laws as well as certain sections of federal law.

The Law Offices of Omar Zambrano has helped thousands of people and them businesses in the past to get out of debt and start over.

Our goal is to help you find a fresh start FAST!

Schedule your free consultation today! By Calling 626-338-5505 or visiting us at 12738 Ramona Blvd Baldwin Park CA 91706


Featured Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square





  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
bottom of page